Young at risk of missing cut after 2-stroke penalty-News

ROCHESTER, NY – A big mistake on the putting green can save you money Cameron Young to qualify for the PGA Championship at Oak Hill Country Club.

After hitting his second shot on the par-4 16th hole, his seventh hole in the second round, Young’s 59-foot birdie putt came within a few feet. Since Young’s ball was in line with his teammates Tommy Fleetwood and Hideki Matsuyamamoved it one clubhead length to the side.

After Fleetwood and Matsuyama each putted, Young knocked in a par putt but forgot to move the ball to its original position. Young was assessed a 2-stroke penalty for violating Rule 15.3c of the Laws of Golf.

“Consequently, after replacing the ball and teeing off, Young played in the wrong position and received a Major Penalty (two strokes) for violating Rule 15.3,” the PGA Championship’s rules committee said Friday.

Young, who was 9 under after 36 holes and likely to make the cut, declined to comment after the round. Fleetwood said the umpire contacted the team on the fifth hole, the 14th hole of the round, about Young’s mistake.

“We didn’t know it happened,” Fleetwood said. “Honestly, I feel bad because I was the one who asked him to move his trophy, so sometimes you live in your own little world.

The error resulted in a double-bogey 6 for Young, the 15th-ranked player in the world. After posting a 4-over 74 on Thursday’s first round, Young had built a foundation before fouling out on 16. After opening his second round with a bogey on the 10th hole, he birdied No. 11, 12 and 15 to go 2 down round and 2 over all.

But a double bogey on 16 dropped him to 4 over. He made bogeys on No. 18 and 4 with another double bogey on No.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *